Cayetano 'seriously considering' running for President – or other posts – in 2022 polls

Cayetano 'seriously considering' running for President – or other posts – in 2022 polls

MANILA, Philippines — Taguig-Pateros Rep. Alan Peter Cayetano on Friday said he is “seriously considering” running for president in the 2022 elections or other positions as he was still “praying and discerning about it.”

For now, however, he said his focus would be on the passage of his proposed “P10-K Ayuda Bill”, which seeks to provide each Filipino household a one-time P10,000 cash assistance amid the pandemic, and in the drafting of a “five-year plan for the country.”

“I am seriously considering running for President or for other positions but I am really praying and discerning about it,” Cayetano said in a press briefing.

“Anyone and everyone who is qualified and could be a good president should now contribute in putting together a five-year plan para kahit sinong manalo, at least may plano na ‘yung ating bansa,” he also said.

According to the former Speaker, politicians should now avoid the “usual gimmick” of initially denying their intentions to run for the presidency since the position is a serious matter.

“Sana ‘yung usual gimmick na usual pabebe, usual tanggi o pakipot politics, isantabi natin ‘yan kasi we really have to know ‘yung character nung candidate, ‘yung vision, ‘yung track record, anong ipapangako n’ya sa tao. Seryosong masyadong usapan ito,” Cayetano said.

Cayetano, who was President Rodrigo Duterte’s running mate in the 2016 elections, was not included among the Chief Executive’s possible choices to endorse as a presidential candidate in the upcoming elections.

Duterte, presidential spokesman Harry Roque said Thursday, already enumerated his options, namely: presidential daughter and Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio, longtime Duterte aide and now Senator Christopher “Bong” Go, Senator Manny Pacquiao, Manila City Mayor Franciso “Isko Moreno” Domagoso, and ex-senator Bongbong Marcos

following the term-sharing agreement between him and now Speaker Lord Allan Velasco.