National

Jamike Jarin says refs miss 'clear' 5-second violation in NU loss to Adamson

Jamike Jarin says refs miss 'clear' 5-second violation in NU loss to Adamson

MANILA, Philippines—As great as Lenda Douanga’s game-winning shot for Adamson was to beat National University, the buzzer beater shouldn’t have happened in the first place according to NU head coach Jamike Jarin.

Jarin said Falcons guard Jerom Lastimosa, who found Douanga from the top of the key that paved way for the go-ahead 3-point basket, took too long to inbound the ball and the referees failed to call a five-second inbound violation.

“It was a clear five-second violation,” said Jarin Saturday at Smart Araneta Coliseum after Adamson’s 84-83 win in overtime.

Jarin showed his team’s scouting video of the final play to members of the media and even had someone time the pass via stopwatch.

The play was timed twice and both instances showed Lastimosa got rid of the ball at around six seconds.

“Not to take anything away from Douanga, those are the shots you can only dream of,” said Jarin.